Officers and Governance


Officers, 2020-2021


Dr. Lesli Hapak



Dr. Charles Frank
Dr. Lisa Bentley
Immediate Past-President
Dr. Kim Hansen

Board of Directors

Dr. Anil Bhalla, Halton-Peel
Dr. David Brown, York
Dr. John Glenny, West Toronto
Dr. Maneesh Jain, Waterloo-Wellington
Dr. Grace Lee, Ottawa
Dr. Janet Leith, Ottawa
Dr. Gordan Markic, Halton-Peel
Dr. Melissa Milligan, West Toronto
Dr. Brock Nicolucci, London
Dr. Roch St-Aubin, Sudbury
Dr. Don Young, Thunder Bay

Chair of the General Council

Dr. Roger Howard, Ottawa

Vice-Chair of the General Council

Dr. Blake Clemes, Waterloo-Wellington

Executive Staff

Frank Bevilacqua, CEO

Ian Farmer, Director, Finance and Administration

David Gentili, Director, Professional and Government Affairs

Alex Glazduri, Director, Member and IT Services

Marcus Staviss, Director, Communications, Public Affairs and Events

Read the ODA Board of Directors' Bios in Media Room > Backgrounder


General Council
The General Council consists of approximately 110 ODA Dentists. It is made up of representatives from the ODA’s 39 Component Societies (based on a representation-by-population system) as well as two students, one from each dental faculty (University of Toronto and Western University). Council’s responsibilities include electing the Board of Directors and approving changes to the ODA’s By-laws and policies in support of the By-laws. Each recognized specialty section is invited to send one non-voting observer to meetings of Council. Council meets twice a year.

Board of Directors
The Board of Directors is a body of 15 dentists consisting of four Elective Officers (President, Immediate Past President, President-Elect, and Vice-President) and 11 other members elected by the General Council. The Board is charged, on behalf of its members, with the careful and responsible governance of the ODA. This includes ensuring that the strategic priorities and policies of the ODA are fulfilled. Much of the Board’s work is carried out through its three Board committees – Audit, Finance and Risk Committee; Human Resources and Compensation Committee; and Governance and Nominating Committee – each of which is constituted entirely of Board members. The Board elects the Vice-President (from among themselves) and committee members (from ODA Dentists at large). The Board is accountable to the General Council.

Advisory Committees and Task Forces
Advisory committees report through the CEO to the Board of Directors. The four main committees are: Economics; Education; Health Policy and Government Relations; and Membership Services and Programs. All other committees and task forces typically report to the main committees. The Board sets the committee terms of reference and elects the committee members. A CEO report providing an update on the activities of the advisory committees is distributed to members of the Board and Council at their meetings.